There are 50 states in total in the entire United States, out of which 33 have legalized marijuana for medicinal purposes. However, all these states have varying marijuana laws – some states too harsh while others are somewhat liberal.
In this post, we are going to have a look at some of the most stringent marijuana laws in the United States:
Being caught with any amount over an ounce of marijuana in Georgia is a felony and can invite a jail term for up to 10 years, besides a minimum $5,000 in fine.
That’s not all, carrying less than one ounce can also land you in trouble- a minimum fine of $1,000 and a year’s sentence.
Medical marijuana is, of course, legal in Arizona, but anyone else caught with any amount of marijuana, under any circumstances is subject to felony charges. In fact, a Class 6 felony, which is the least serious offense — for carrying less than 2 pounds for personal use — can land a person in prison for a minimum of six months, besides a $1,000 in fines.
Both medical and adult-use marijuana is illegal in Virginia. One is liable to face $500 in fines and 30 days in prison if found in possession of half an ounce or less.
The second offense in Virginia puts an individual in prison for a minimum of 1 year, apart from up to $2,500 in fines.
Idaho is a state that doesn’t have any kind of mercy for even the benign CBD and its products. Being in possession of more than 3 ounces of the drug is a felony, resulting in at least $50,000 in fines and, of course, a long sentence.
The state doesn’t care much about the quantities of the drug being carried, so if you are caught with any amount, you’ll face a jail term of 6 months and a fine of $1,000. Any subsequent offense will be deemed a felony with at least a 3.5 years sentence and over $10,000 in fines.
Marijuana is illegal for both medical and recreational use in Kansas. Some CBD usage, however, is permitted, but overall the laws governing the use of marijuana aren’t well drafted.
Any amount of the drug is considered a misdemeanor with up to 6 months in prison and a $1,000 fine. Any sale or cultivation of the plant will lead to a felony.